Trogir is a town-museum in the very meaning of the word. Lovers of cultural and historical monuments, art, original architecture and nice alleys are given the opportunity in Trogir to learn about the manifold and complex heritage - from the Romanesque yard to the modern interiors. The unique historical core, Radovan's portal, the art collections which have been arousing excitement among visitors and travellers for centuries offer a tourist beauty, personified in the relief of Kairos as an appropriate souvenir. The wider surroundings of Trogir (Trogir - Seget - Ciovo Riviera) is characterized by lavish green vegetation, numerous islands and islets, rocky and pebble beaches. Apart from the high quality accommodation - hotels, boarding houses, apartments, campsites, delicious domestic food, fish dishes in par-ticular, the sports and recreation offer includes many opportunities - tennis, boccia, bowling, jogging, surfing school, diving. Entertainment includes lively fishermen's nights and folklore show but also classical music concerts in special scenic sets of the town. Trogir ACI Marina has 200 berths in the sea and 80 places on the land TROGIR, a town and harbour on the coastal strip of the Kastela Gulf, 27 km west of Split. The old core is situated on a small island between the island of Ciovo and the mainland; connected with the mainland by a small stone bridge, and with the island of Ciovo by a drawbridge. The town spreads to the northern coast of Ciovo, opposite the small island. Chief occupations include shipbuilding, tobacco, pharmaceuticals and tourist trade. Trogir lies on the main road (M2, E65). Split Airport is in nearby Resnik. Trogir Marina is situated on the northern coast of the Ciovo island, between the bridge of Trogir and Cape Cubrijan. In the 3rd century BC a Greek settlement Tragurion which developed into a major port in the Roman period. Sudden prosperity of Salona deprived Trogir of its importance. During the Croatian migration the citizens of the destroyed Salona escaped to Trogir. From the 9th century Trogir was paying tribute to the Croatian rulers. The diocese of Trogir was established in the 11th century (abolished in 1828) and in 1107 it was chartered by the Hungarian-Croatian king Koloman, gaining thus its autonomy as a town. In 1123 it was conquered and almost completely demolished by the Saracens. However, Trogir recovered in a short period to experience a powerful economic prosperity in the 12th and the 13th centuries. In 1242 King Bela IV found refuge there as he was running from the Tatars. In the 13th and the 14th centuries the members of the Subic line were most frequently elected dukes by the citizens of Trogir; Mladen III (1348), according to the inscription on the sepulchral slab in the Cathedral of Trogir, called "the shield of the Croats", was one of the most prominent Subics. In 1420 the period of a long-term Venetian rule began. On the fall of Venice in 1797 Trogir came under the Austrian power, which lasted until 1918 (except for the per-iod under the French rule 1806-1814). In 1918 it was returned to the parent country.